The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher

23015962Title: The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak

Author: Brian Katcher

Date Published: May 19th of 2015

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

About: *the following synopsis is copied from the book’s GoodReads page here.

“The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak is Stonewall Book Award-winning author Brian Katcher’s hilarious he said/she said romance about two teens recovering from heartbreak and discovering themselves on an out-of-this-world accidental first date.

It all begins when Ana Watson’s little brother, Clayton, secretly ditches the quiz bowl semifinals to go to the Washingcon sci-fi convention on what should have been a normal, résumé-building school trip.

If slacker Zak Duquette hadn’t talked up the geek fan fest so much, maybe Clayton wouldn’t have broken nearly every school rule or jeopardized Ana’s last shot at freedom from her uptight parents.

Now, teaming up with Duquette is the only way for Ana to chase down Clayton in the sea of orcs, zombies, bikini-clad princesses, Trekkies, and Smurfs. After all, one does not simply walk into Washingcon.

But in spite of Zak’s devil-may-care attitude, he has his own reasons for being as lost as Ana-and Ana may have more in common with him than she thinks. Ana and Zak certainly don’t expect the long crazy night, which begins as a nerdfighter manhunt, to transform into so much more… “

My rating: 1.5/5

*Get a copy from Book Depository*

Feels as if I’m being too generous with my rating. I plunged into the book with good expectations. But it just proved to be a book filled with stereotypes (especially in the convention part…). I was contemplating on putting the book down all the while. The characters irritated me. The story irritated me. But I finished reading it nonetheless. I guess I was kind of hoping that it would ~maybe~ get better farther along. But I reached the end and nothing. I don’t want to sound such a bitch, but goddamn, the characters felt either too dumb or too emotional. I didn’t understand the pattern of the book. One moment they were in a convention, another in a fiery kidnapping situation. I don’t know if it’s the fact that I have already outgrown teen books (but I don’t think so), but I felt no connection whatsoever to the story.

Obviously, I don’t recommend it.

 


All images and the synopsis of the book are from GoodReads.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

