Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume

2402523 Title: Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret.

Author: Judy Blume

Date Published: June 1st of 1986 (first published in 1970)

Publisher: Turtleback Books

Synopsis (via GoodReads):  “Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret” No one ever told Margaret Simon that eleven-going-on- twelve would be such a hard age. When her family moves to New Jersey, she has to adjust to life in the suburbs, a different school, and a whole new group of friends. Margaret knows she needs someone to talk to about growing up-and it’s not long before she’s found a solution.

“Are you there God? It’s me, Margaret. I can’t wait until two o’clock God. That’s when our dance starts. Do you think I’ll get Philip Leroy for a partner? It’s not so much that I like him as a person God, but as a boy he’s very handsome. And I’d love to dance with him… just once or twice. Thank you God. 


Rate: 3 of 5

*Get a copy from Book Depository*

Religion is a very tricky thing, a very, very tricky thing indeed. Being a (Baptist) Christian, it’s a constant struggle for me to reaffirm my faith when I look at religion. Religion is one thing, faith is another. It has often been said that religion have had so many flaws because humans have mucked it. Behind all of those humanly mistakes that we make, what’s left is our faith and to what we believe on. Now, why am I talking about religion in a book review?
sa9w9al1jvcck
Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret tells of a young girl and her struggle to know what her religion is. Her mother was born a Christian, and her father Jewish. She was confused–what is she supposed to be? Put this in the perspective of a twelve-year old girl. Wouldn’t that really be confusing, when it seems as if everybody is telling her to be one religion or the other?
And then, also mix up the puberty matters that goes on in the background. I read on fondly and remembered the real struggle of getting your first period, unexpected crushes (sometimes you just are attracted to people who are not conventionally classified as “attractive”, but it’s all good haha), bra shopping, peer pressure, family, etc. And now you also have to deal with religion? It would spell disaster. (Dear God, I am cringing while I’m writing this thinking of all the things that has happened to me in the name of puberty. I had been an early bloomer just like Laura. Oh god. Anyway…)
1whbjpdoe34jk
I loved how in the form of a children’s book religion was discussed. Although not so subtly hidden between the words (I mean, how can the subject matter be hidden when it’s slapped across its title, right?) I gave it a 3 of 5 rating because it was a very short read but one that is definitely enjoyable.
P.S. I am sort of confused…what are those belts and things that they use when you get your period? Like, seriously–BELTS?!
P.P.S. This reminded me of an old movie Now and Then.
Do I recommend it? Yes.

*Cover image and synopsis via GoodReads; Gifs via Giphy

3 thoughts on “Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume

  1. Pingback: 2016 Wrap-Up || The Book Weirdo – The Book Weirdo

Leave a Reply

