The Memory Book by Lara Avery

25988934
Author: Lara Avery
Genre: Young Adult
Number of Pages: 368 (Kindle Edition)
Date Published: July 5th of 2016
Synopsis (via GoodReads):
They tell me that my memory will never be the same, that I’ll start forgetting things. At first just a little, and then a lot. So I’m writing to remember.
 
Sammie was always a girl with a plan: graduate at the top of her class and get out of her small town as soon as humanly possible. Nothing will stand in her way–not even a rare genetic disorder the doctors say will slowly start to steal her memories and then her health. What she needs is a new plan.
 
So the Memory Book is born: Sammie’s notes to her future self, a document of moments great and small. It’s where she’ll record every perfect detail of her first date with longtime crush, Stuart–a brilliant young writer who is home for the summer. And where she’ll admit how much she’s missed her childhood best friend, Cooper, and even take some of the blame for the fight that ended their friendship.
 
Through a mix of heartfelt journal entries, mementos, and guest posts from friends and family, readers will fall in love with Sammie, a brave and remarkable girl who learns to live and love life fully, even though it’s not the life she planned.”
 

Rate: 5 of 5
I really loved the idea of this book. I’ve been a long-time fan of books that has a diary/journal tone and this one has a very beautiful ring to it. Add up the beautiful cover and I’m sold!

Funnily enough, when I picked up this book and I was staring at the cover (don’t tell me you don’t do that!), I felt like it was such a good one. I don’t know, there was this weird feeling right from the start that I just knew I would like it. And I did. My rating wisely suffices my point.
Upon finishing reading it, I was straight-up crying. Something that hasn’t really happened to me for quite a while.
2wxwfiavndgcm
It wasn’t just the general story of the book, in some parts of it I found myself in Samantha (the main character). It’s a mix of fun and surreal when you find some echo of yourself in a book character isn’t it? But really, what made me cry was the ending. I mean, I knew it was already approaching the ending. I was already preparing myself with parting with the book. But, oh man, I didn’t expect the conclusion. On that point, ending the story so abruptly made me want this to have a sequel. But, I guess, that’s out of the cards.
Regarding the characters, normally I wouldn’t buy into something that doesn’t give much outline of the characters of the book. But this time, I understood the context of just getting to know a little of each character because the main focus and the main goal of the book was to tell the story of the main character.
I’ve got so much to say about this piece, I just don’t know how to express myself. I loved the twists and turns within it. I am not really a big fan of Young Adult but after reading this maybe I would want to give it another try. Right now, I still am not over the ending. It still pinches the heart that I would need a moment to recover (haha!).
jsewknyictj0q
I loved it. That’s all.
Do I recommend it? Hellz yah.
qd8cwrrt93og0

Cover image and synopsis via GoodReads; gifs via Giphy.
2 Comments

Leave a Reply

