Kima by A. H. Amin

32068901Title: Kima

Author: A.H. Amin

(Expected) Date of Publishing: December 1st of 2016

Publisher: Self-Published

Synopsis (via GoodReads page here): 

Christmas Eve 1928 gave birth to a yearly phenomenon in South Africa. A herd of false killer whales were found beached upon the shore. It has also given birth to the story of two young children who meet an old woman named Kima. Kima somehow knows why this has happened, but that’s not all she knows. The children, Alex and Alice, realize that there is more to this woman that what meets the eye, and ear. She will reveal to them a tale, a mysterious story she claims was passed on to her by a mythical Black Seagull.
Derived from both historic tales and figures, Kima is a fictional character portrayed in a way that makes her become real.

Rate: 3 of 5

*Get a copy from The Book Depository*

I had a love-hate relationship with this book. I loved the synopsis of the book and it got me intrigued on the subject of it. But I felt like, the synopsis was a tad bit lacking after I got around to reading the book. So, yeah. Why a love-hate relationship?

First off, I loved the fact that it was so easy to read. It is essentially just a novella so it’s a little shorter than a normal novel. Well…thus it is called novella. Hahaha.

bzcams4nnebgw

If you remember those cute little stories that children read before going to bed, I believe it was called “fables”. Yeah, that one. It was just like reading fables…but for adults. I’m not so sure as to how it worked, but it did.

Although, one qualm I had while going through the book was that in some circumstances, the shift between the animal and then the human kingdom were kind of confusing. The transition from one to the next was really important to the flow of the story so that leaving it out to an abrupt ending of one part and then starting another really left me disturbed. At times, I need to read back because I was sort of lost as to why I am in another one. That’s essentially it. I got lost in the transitioning between one part to the next.

3oz8xowhuvpr3kw3we

The nice touch of the story being around the time of 1928 was not really outlined well in the book so at times I forgot that the story was of times past. Which is really a shame because that could have given the story a new light.

Okay, the next thing I loved will be kinda a spoiler, so beware. As a Christian, I LOVED the flick of Jonah’s story in the plotline. Ahh. While I was actually reading I was like “Wait, did he actually include the story of Jonah in the book? OMG. He did! OMG, he did.” Haha. For some weird reason, I loved that little innuendo in there. It wasn’t really outright told that it was the story of Jonah but it was obvious enough to those who know his story. I’m pleased. Haha. 😛

I still have mixed feelings about the fact that this was inspired by real events. Like, it’s so surreal! And yes, I do know that in some places there were tweaks in the story. But like Stephen King said, “Fiction is a lie. And GOOD fiction is the truth inside the lie.” The story of Kima and the woman who inspired the story is really thought-provoking. A woman who can see into the future? Curiouser and curiouser.

I have often said it time and time again, I am a judgmental person when it comes to cover art. I gotta be honest, I was not a fan of the cover art. For me, this would be picked up by more people if the cover art was beautiful and thought provoking at the same time.

Lastly, this I gotta say, I feel this story would be better portrayed if it was made into a movie or a video production…I don’t know. Seems like it. Because of the poor fading in, fading out into the parts as I have said earlier. I have visualized it and it has so many of the characters that the Life of Pi, Memoirs of a Geisha, etc. have. I don’t know, I just really though of it and I was like, “Huh. Maybe that will work.” 😛

k6vhxtbgcxqqu

I rated it 3 of 5 because as I have said, I have a love-hate relationship with it. I loved the characters and the story. Although, I did hate the times where I was confused as to the story flow. The ending did provide me with a sense of a closure to the story, which is good.

Favorite quote: 

life-is-momentary-for-a-reson

Do I recommend it? If you like fable-like stories, yes.

I want to thank the author, Ahmed H. Amin, for giving me the privilege to read the book in advance in exchange for an honest review! Watch out for this book, Kima, around December of 2016.

 

 


*Cover image and synopsis via GoodReads; Gifs via Giphy.

One thought on “Kima by A. H. Amin

  1. Pingback: 2016 Wrap-Up || The Book Weirdo – The Book Weirdo

Leave a Reply

