The Lost Guide to Life and Love by Sharon Griffiths

6816065Title: The Lost Guide to Life and Love

Author: Sharon Griffiths

Genre: Romance, Chick Lit

Number of Pages (Paperback):  340 pages

Date Published: September 1st of 2009

Publisher: Avon Books

Synopsis (via GoodReads page here):

Follow food writer Tilly Flint as she discovers her roots, her sense of adventure and the secret to happiness in this timeless, inventive tale for fans of Eva Rice and Elizabeth Noble.Do the answers to Tilly Flint’s future lie in her past?In a nightclub full of the rich and famous, a glamorous model leaps from a window and escapes into the night. Food writer Tilly Flint – on a rare date with boyfriend Jake – is sole witness to her flight. Little does she know the chain of events set to unfold…The following week, Tilly and Jake have the last of many arguments, leaving Tilly alone in the wild Pennines landscape where she’s on assignment. Terrified yet strangely exhilarated, she investigates the area – and finds more than a few surprises.Intrigued to learn that, as an only child, she has family in the area, Tilly starts to dig deeper, discovering her great grandmother’s past and the eerie parallels with her own life. As she explores the treacherous moors, she stumbles across mysterious pieces of cherry-red ribbon. What do they signify? And who is the strangely familiar face in the local pub?Then a chance encounter with celebrity Clayton Silver leads Tilly into a high-octane world that spells danger. Can the ribbons from the past be a lifeline in the present?

Rate: 4 of 5

*Get a copy from The Book Depository*


That’s right. I gave 4 stars for a chick lit. Yes. Me. I can’t believe it, too. I don’t get how I loved it. I just did. Read on and you’ll find my ramblings about it. Be warned, there are some cringe-worthy parts hahahaha.

Let me start off with the physicality of the book. The cover is stunning with a subtle hint on the contents of the book. It’s so artsy and cute! On the other hand, the title is a bit misleading…there was no guide or anything that I had been looking forward to reading. Just pure, normal novel.

The characters are in tip-top shape, I must say. The vivid writing of the author really did the story well, it helped paint the pictures of characters better and just made me think of their characters and reactions all throughout the book. Keeping on that note about vivid writing, I will also add how beautiful the food description is. I was hungry half the time! The writing really did convince me that the main character is a food writer/reviewer.

cdpamfo9dboya

The main character, Tilly, is so lovable that even though there were parts where you won’t normally find yourself as a regular person in the world (e.g. a superstar falling for Tilly)  I didn’t really feel that jealousy and rage that I often have when the character is already way off the reality of life. But, yes, I won’t lie at the beginning of the story I thought that “A soccer superstar going to fall for an average girl? YEAH, SURE.SURRRREEEEE.”  But hoooobooooooy.

I can’t believe I’ll ever love Chick Lit again. I mean, really. I lost faith in the whole romantic thingy when I was almost in the end years of college. I still am actually. But oh my goodness, the story on this one is really not something that I’ll end up reading or even believing–but how the hell did this made me want to believe in love again? *insert cringey face here* Just the fact that this made me ache and smile and laugh at some point in the story is such a good sign both for the book and for myself. LOL. Now I know I still have a heart.

The history snippets of their family and lineage is good, too. I liked how it all tangles together and just flow smoothly. What I just can’t handle is (WARNING SPOILER AHEAD) the romance between Grandma Allen and the photographer. Why you gotta do this to my heart?! WHHHHYYYYYYYYYYYYY. Why did the photographer have to die?! WHY. WHY. WHY. WHHHHHHHHHHHYYYYYYYY.

dftzwmfplx3os

I’ve often found myself picking up a Chick Lit  and then just hurling it across the room in frustration. KIDDING.. Or am I? No I’m definitely kidding. But yeah damn. This is all around a good book to read if you’re looking to have your heart broken and to feel like maybe you still have a heart or anything in between. You get the point.

I reserve my 5 of 5 with those I really loved and which made me re-think literature. But yeah, oh my.

Do I recommend it? YES. Pick it up, girl. Pick. It. Up.

geywtodb9aii0


And also, guys, where can I find a Clayton Silver, yeah?

Cover image and Synopsis via GoodReads; Gifs via Giphy.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

