Frankly, Frannie by A.J. Stern

7640262Title: Frankly, Frannie

Author: A.J. Stern

Illustrator: Doreen Mulryan Marts

Series: Frankly, Frannie 

Genre: Childrens, Humor, Fiction

Number of Pages (Hardcover): 128 pages

Date Published: March 27th of 2010

Publisher: Grosset and Dunlap

Synopsis (via GoodReads page here):

She’s already got her resume, business cards, and mustard packets (which are so much more grown up than ketchup) ready. So why is it taking eleventeen hundred years? Frannie’s class is visiting the local radio station and the radio host is no where to be found. Should Frannie cover for him—after all, this could be her big break! But what happens when listeners call in with questions, and Frannie doesn’t know the answers?

Rate: 3 of 5

*Get a copy from Book Depository*


You would think that a twenty-year old wouldn’t read children’s book, huh? Well, I proved you wrong. Haha. Although, I was a bit reluctant posting this because I hardly have anything to say about it–I was kind of leaning on to reading the whole series and posting just one review for it all. But, that’s nine (or eight?) books…and I’m not sure I have the energy to do that now. So I’m just gonna go straight away to my notes on the book.

The book was actually funny with little, cute antics that you can certainly see from kids. I am in this point in the semester where I am so stressed out, but this little book made me chuckle just a wee little bit. And also, I admit, that it’s quite weird reading a children’s children’s book without a kid you’re reading it with. But, I’m a sucker for the kid’s and illustrated genre…So yeah, that happened. The resolve at the end was okay, I guess. The fact that it teaches a lesson is a plus, too.

I guess you would understand why I gave this 3 of 5. It’s not extraordinary or anything. It’s a cute and light-hearted read that’s perfect for kids. Which leads me to the question…should I completely stop (or maybe just not too often) reading children’s books? I mean, I’m fine with the middle-grade. I love those. But these really kiddy books, while I do enjoy them makes me feel a little older…which I really am not. I guess I might be laying off kid’s books for the mean time. Focus muna sa mga weird na pa-deep na books! Hahaha.

Do I recommend it? I actually don’t know.


Cover image and Synopsis via GoodReads.

One thought on “Frankly, Frannie by A.J. Stern

  1. Pingback: 2016 Wrap-Up || The Book Weirdo – The Book Weirdo

Leave a Reply

