History

photo-1469178066045-855bb6994cc0.jpg

I’m taking a break from reading random books because I think I need to educate myself more about this thing that’s taking our country by storm. The recent uncovering of the memories from the Martial Law era in the seventies and the Marcos family made me wonder all over again. I’m a history nut and this time, I think I need to know more.

Our nation is torn about this thing, words–most of the time not in good taste–have been strewn around. Pro-Marcos? Anti-Marcos? I do have my view on the matter. Not because I’m from UP, but because I do not want to forget history. I want to respect it. So because of this, I want to recheck my knowledge on the subject once again. Perhaps, weigh this matter another time. I want to open my horizons and verify it again. I have a million things to mention, but I would rather have my view on the matter be broadened rather than throwing around words with another person not sharing my opinion.

I want to shout, I want to be angry with this seemingly outright act of ignorance to history. But I’ll cope through the best way I know–by reading. I’ll finally pick up and read The Conjugal Dictatorship of Ferdinand and Imelda Marcos by Primitivo Mijares. A dark story arises from the writing of this book.

I would never want to be one with a generation that’s all talks and knows nothing, I would want to hear the facts again. There’s not one iota of me that’s second-guessing my position on the matter. But, I need to know more about this. MORE. I don’t want to be one of the people to forget those dark times that tried our nation and just “move on”.


Image via Unsplash

Leave a Reply

