Massacre of the Sixty (Sixty-Minute Reads #2) by Dave Johnston

33129661

Title: Massacre of the Sixty

Author: Dave Johnston

Series: Sixty-Minute Reads #2

Genre: Thriller

Date Published: December 4th of 2016

Publisher: Sixty Publishing (Self-published)

Synopsis: 

The billionaire Mengistu is running a competition with a ten million dollar prize fund: 60 minutes, 60 players, no rules, a straight fight to the death. Massacre of the Sixty attracts only the depraved and psychotic..

Can Holly Holloway survive the carnage to discover more about the shadowy agency “The Hollow Falx”? It’s gonna be brutal, it’s gonna be violent, it’s what she’s trained for.

Rate: 4 of 5


Author Dave Johnston is back again with another installment of the series Sixty-Minute Reads. I gotta warn the prospective reader, this is not for the faint of heart. The writing rings true to its title. It’s full of gore and is bloody and messy and altogether straight up massacre–but don’t get scared off by this book so easily.

First off, I felt like I was reading a book that’s a cross between Hunger Games and A Game of Thrones. I don’t know, it just works. 😀

The mystical nature of the main character, Holly Holloway, on the reader (at least on me) is still there and it never fails to get me by the throat and just ask, “Why the hell is this happening?” Seriously, I think my process while reading the book was:

Me: *shouts* WHAT?!

*reads on*

Also me: OHHHHH.

By the way, I won’t recommend reading like this at 1am with everyone sleeping in the house because they will get mad at you. HAHAHA.

What I love about Johnston’s style of writing is that, for the lack of a better term, he strings you along with uncertainty as to what you are reading and you have that “ohhhhh” moment when it’s already approaching the end. It’s a weird style of writing I must say, but it certainly works. It makes the book an instant page-turner because the “I need answers!” state turns on inside of you. And naturally, that style carried out to this book.

3o72fhhq0b8hqv05wg

rare footage of me stressing out and wanting answers 😛

As I have mentioned earlier, this is the second installment in the series. But as far as I am concerned, the stories weren’t really that attached to each other and the only thing that glues them together is the character Holly Holloway. Sure, there was this brief stint of a previous character in the first book, but it was so minor that it was easily negligible. So, having said that, if someone out there suddenly picked up this book by accident without knowing that this is a part of an ongoing series, it wouldn’t be the end of the world. (That happened to me so much before I joined GoodReads. My god. ) In my previous review of the last book, I said that there are some questions I have that I was expecting that the second book would somehow answer, but I was a little disappointed with that. This might also be attributed to the fact that the books are not that connected as I have expected it to be.

Some dimensions of the book were lost, I think, because I didn’t really understand why Holly was even doing what she was doing (*wink, wink* I can’t say, you have to read the book first! haha :P). But then again, maybe making you feel just like that is just one of the purpose of it. Maybe, I’ll look forward to the next book to quench my thirst for Holly’s backstory. I understand that the pacing of this book doesn’t really offer quite an advantage to expound on the backstory of our heroine.

All in all, this was such a fast read and an exciting one at that! Full of action (oh trust me it is) and certainly something that filled me with questions. Which I’m still hoping to get answered, by the way. In the next book. Please. HAHA.

Do I recommend it? If you don’t have a soft heart (I mean, who has that these days? LOL) YEEEEES!

P.S. According to the author himself, another installment of the series is in process! Yayyy!

P.P.S. Book 1, Atomic Number Sixty, is free (YES, FREE!) on Kindle for December 11th to the 15th! Write it on your calendars!


*I want to thank Dave Johnston for providing me a free copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. 

**Cover image and Synopsis via GoodReads; Gif via Giphy.

Leave a Reply

