Short Stories from Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies (Pottermore Presents #1) by J.K. Rowling

31538635Title: Short Stories from Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies

Author: J.K. Rowling

Series: Pottermore Presents, no. 1

Genre: Fantasy, Short Stories, Fiction

No. of Pages (eBook): 71

Date Published: September 6th of 2016

Publisher: Pottermore Limited

Synopsis (via GoodReads):

‘Minerva was the Roman goddess of warriors and wisdom. William McGonagall is celebrated as the worst poet in British history. There was something irresistible to me about his name, and the idea that such a brilliant woman might be a distant relative of the buffoonish McGonagall.’ – J.K. Rowling

Pottermore Presents is a collection of J.K. Rowling’s writing from the Pottermore archives: short reads originally featured on pottermore.com with some exclusive new additions. These eBooks, with writing curated by Pottermore, will take you beyond the Harry Potter stories as J.K. Rowling reveals her inspiration, intricate details of characters’ lives and surprises from the wizarding world.

These stories of heroism, hardship and dangerous hobbies profile two of the Harry Potter stories’ most courageous and iconic characters: Minerva McGonagall and Remus Lupin. J.K. Rowling also gives us a peek behind the closed curtains of Sybill Trelawney’s life, and you’ll encounter the reckless, magical-beast-loving Silvanus Kettleburn along the way.

Cover art by MinaLima

Rate: 3 of 5


First of all, hope you’re having a happy new year! I thought I’d start off the year with putting my two cents on this little book of backstories of Harry Potter characters–all professors–that we loved. It’s good to reconcile some little questions that I might have had with the characters included namely those of Minerva McGonagall, Remus Lupin, Sybill Trelawney, and Silvanus Kettleburn. In my narrative to be found below, I’ll be voicing out my thoughts on each single characters and how Rowling has stretched my perceptions and understanding of them. (Before proceeding, if you’re reading this, I’m assuming you have read the Harry Potter series…I mean….who hasn’t?)

Of all, I have been particulary excited for Professor McGonagall, with her stern and always composed demeanor, I just knew there’s a good backstory to her. What I just wasn’t prepared was how heartbreaking her love life was. I have always wondered if she was one of those women who just somehow went along life perpetually single but surprise, surprise, that’s not the case. But oh the heartbreak!

Meanwhile, with Remus Lupin, I have to confess that I was not really endeared as much with his character since his general participation in the series, though proving to be very pivotal and important, was quick in my opinion. I would say though that he is the coolest Defense Against the Dark Arts professor ever. Imagine how he would whoop Gilderoy Lockhart’s ass. It was really satisfying to finally understand how he really became a werewolf and the real reason why Tonks was so sad towards the end of the HP series–via heartbreak yet again.

Sybill Trelawney, ahh, the quackest of all. My footing on her is the same as that of Hermione’s. She’s just full of bullshit, most of the time, that is. Her character had always irritated me but after reading this little backstory of hers, I may have seen her in a better light. It’s heartbreaking how her insecurities made her so withdrawn from other professors because she knew that she is not as good as them. And also, who knew she had a husband?!

Lastly, Silvanus Kettleburn, the magical professor who retired to enjoy his remaining limbs. A sheer backstory to the professor who Hagrid had to replace certainly threw a better roundedness on the professor-lineup of Hogwarts–and how they are all so brilliant in their own way.

I rated this 3 of 5 because I really didn’t want to sugarcoat it just because it’s another backstory of Harry Potter characters. I loved HP but it is just a book of backstory. It felt good to be immersing myself again to J.K. Rowling’s writing since Cursed Child. But I guess, nothing special really came up in this book and it is certainly not something you have to read. It just sheds a better light on the characters, giving them a more well-rounded nature.

P.S. This one has a handsome cover, don’t you think?


Do I recommend it? Yeah sure.


Cover image and Synopsis via GoodReads

 

Leave a Reply

