Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J. Maas

7896527Title: Throne of Glass

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Series: Throne of Glass, no. 1

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance

Number of Pages (Hardcover): 404

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children’s

Date Published: August 7th of 2012

Synopsis (via GoodReads):

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

Rate: 4 of 5

Get a copy: Book Depository (Hardcover, Paperback, CD-Audio), National Bookstore (Paperback), Kobo (eBook)


Hi! I managed to pick myself up from my (mini) reading slump because of the damned A Court of Mist and Fury which I loved so much and I cannot find a book that would match it so what better thing to do than to pick up another Maas book? I know it’s not advisable to read books by the same author consecutively but I can’t help it. I was really threatened to the harsh fact that I may not finish my book goals this year–and it’s just January! What is thissssss. So far, I think I’ve read four books out of my goal of a hundred. LOL good luck to me. Anyway! So much for my babbling–here’s my thoughts on Throne of Glass. I’ll give you a heads up when the spoilers will start.

This is the third Maas book I have picked up following ACOTAR and ACOMAF, and I must say since this was her first book written when she was just sixteen (wow!!!!) originally published in a website called FictionPress and was then published by Bloomsbury, her way of writing is really different in this one when compared to the two I’ve read in the past. And of course that change is for the better. I mean, wow, this book had quite a journey! Here’s SJM’s letter to all her FictionPress supporters and it’s so awesome and awww-worthy. 😛 Anyway, even though this was another series, I was mildly afraid of reading another one of her books because she writes so well! She paints surreal worlds that I just get into so fast. And also because I might get too much of her, but oh boy, I’ve come to realize that there’s no such thing as too much Sarah J. Maas. NOTHING, I TELL YOU. Although the way of writing of this book is not particulary stellar as her writing in ACOMAF, I sure did find myself getting absorbed into the story slowly. And I will trust my book reviewers and fellow bloggers that this series gets better.

Major world-building. If you didn’t know that this was a series you’d be perhaps irked as to why there are so many details on each little thing. Also, the particularly skimming-the-top of characters weren’t really amicable. But then again, it’s a series people so there’ll be plenty of time for world and character exploration in the next books. I mean, I sure do hope so! I had some qualms while reading but I’m also recognizing the fact that this has so much potential to go over the horizon and I cannot wait to read the next books! (And tbh, it’s the first book in a series what was I expecting?! I mean, look at Harry Potter from the  story of a wee little child in a new school it morphed into a kickass whoa-worthy book series. So, my heart can wait for major developments on this one. :)) And also, the magic is just starting. And I don’t mean that as an expression, literally the magic is just starting. Haha. The fun is just starting, folks. I can feel it.

12nubkx6p4xoo4

The preliminary chapters weren’t really that good in my opinion. I would be lying if I say that I didn’t have some troubles emerging myself again in a notion of a new world. I was kinda hoping that it would have the kind of elements like in the ACOTAR series but I was wrong. I mean, I’m not right yet. I don’t know. Seems like there’s a major magic shitstorm that’s gonna happen in the next books.

Regarding the main character, Celeana Sardothien the wonderful, kick-ass assassin, well, I didn’t like her so much because she seemed such a bitch and was actually arrogant at times AT FIRST. BUT, I liked her in the later parts because she proved to have redeemed herself  (add the fact that she’s head over heels about books, too!) and frankly, she was locked in a slave prison what did I honestly expect? That she would be the polite, soft-spoken lady like all those court women? Ha. No. On another note, may I just interject the wonderful, wonderful fact that this book has the prettiest character names ever? And also names that are hard to pronounce? Chaol’s name’s pronunciation is still a mystery to me. If you must know, I pronounce it “tsey-ohl” HAHAHAHA.

I mean: Celaena Sardothien, Chaol Westfall, Dorian Havilliard, Nehemia Ytger, Kaltain Rompier, etc. Look at how proper those names are! Great, now I wish I had a proper name like that. HAHA.

As far as I’m really into this, again, I feel like this one is a little wobbly on its own. BUT I ALSO HEARD GREAT THINGS FOR THE SECOND BOOK WHICH I AM ABSOLUTELY EXCITED TO READ! Crown of Midnight, I am coming brace yourself. 😛 This was a nice mix of fantasy and reality. And oh oh! I forgot to say, this book has a gorgeous cover!

Okay, so there ends my spoiler-free section of this post. SO GUYS, LET’S GET TO MY TRUE FEELINGS AND QUESTIONS about Throne of Glass.


  • First of all, I didn’t like the love triangle because I knew Chaol and Celaena were much better together and that Dorian was only a distraction. But upon watching Booktube about this love triangle, I am forced to acknowledge that maybe this Chaol and Celaena thing is not end-game. (Oh my god, my little Chaol’s heart will break again.) But let’s see if I’m going to move camps soon. But as far as I’m concerned as I’m writing this, I’m still on Chaol. I thought Dorian and Celaena was just LOL. I feel like Celaena and Chaol relate to each other much more. He is the King’s head of the royal guard, she is an assassin. WHEREAS DORIAN IS JUST A PAMPERED PRINCE. It just seems more realistic and has more sense, you know? I think the reason Dorian liked her is just because of the fact that she was yet a box to be opened–so unlike the women he is used to who throws themselves at him. Plus, Chaol has all the confidence in her exhibited through her training and even at the duel itself.
  • I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT THE CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT OF CHAOL IN THE NEXT BOOK. I GUESS YOU CAN TELL THAT MY FAVORITE CHARACTER HERE IS CHAOL HAHAHAHA. AND I’M JUST SO OBSESSED WITH HIM BECAUSE HIS CHARACTER WAS HARDLY TACKLED IN THIS BOOK AND SO I NEED A BOOK JUST ABOUT CHAOL. And nope, my capslock key is not broken. I’m just, ya know, excited. Hahaha.
  • Also, the Fae. Holy guacamole, when I read about that I was waiting for my ACOMAF people to pop up. Seriously, I have a problem with this ACOTAR series hangover.
  • I hated how the fact that Celaena is beautiful was stated over and over and over. I got so irritated that I actually counted the times someone said or thought she’s pretty. I think I got tired after marking the tenth time. WE GET IT SHE’S PRETTY GET OVER IT.
  • I have a question. Is “Yulemas” really just Christmas because you know Yuletide Season+Christmas=Yulemas. 😛 I am not so proud about this but hey hear me out. Around the time of Yulemas it’s cold and it was snowing . WELLLLL. 😀
  • I particularly liked the girl power here. And it’s so realistic because Nehemia and Celaena’s friendship was not so stellar at all times but they still managed to come through with it–and in the process protect and empower each other. Sure, there were catfights but I guess that’s normal in any friendship.
  • I’m so confused with Celaena up until the end, she goes and kiss Dorian and thanks Chaol “For making my freedom mean something.” GIRRRRRL YOU CONFUSED THE HELLA OUTTA ME.
  • She is so badass, maybe a shameless flirt one, but still a badass. I feel so proud of her for actually defeating Cain that little sonofab*tch. However, reading that Cain fight was like watching a boxing match where you can just see your bet slowly losing.
  • I hated Kaltain but now I want to know the next thing that happened to her!!!
  • Qualm: She cared for people way too quickly for someone who was imprisoned by these people. She’s too trusting. But maybe that’s just in her nature?
  • This book might have housed the most heartbreaking scene ever in the history of all unrequited love. And of course it featured my bae Chaol.

“…he knew that her thoughts weren’t of him….Still, he watched, watched until she sighed and went inside. She never bothered to look below.”

(Guys, my heart was melted after this. Like, where’d my heart go?! Oh there it is, in a puddle. Why must you do this to Chaol?)
If you’ve read the book, you know this was the night of Yulemas. And I think in this simple ultra-short section of the chapter, I felt like the pain of unrequited love was housed in so briefly but effectively (Is that cheesy?! Idk that’s what I’ve observed.)
  • The way Celeana’s parents were murdered raises to me the question as to why they were murdered. And if Celeana, consequently, has some royalty status going on that she doesn’t know? I mean…it’s kinda suspicious.

All in all, please don’t break my heart in the next book. Please please please.
Do I recommend it? YES! Pick it up my wonderful friend. 🙂
ftxvssyrzkxxg

Cover image and Synopsis via Goodreads; Gifs via Giphy

Leave a Reply

