Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas

17167166Title: Crown of Midnight

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Series: Throne of Glass #2

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance

Number of Pages (Hardcover): 418

Date Published: August 27th of 2013

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Synopsis (via Goodreads):

“A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached.

It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend.”

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

Rate: 4 of 5

Get a copy: Book Depository (Hardcover, Paperback, CD-Audio), National Bookstore (Paperback), Kobo (eBook), Audible (Audio Book)


Alright. I’ll go fast on this one because I kinda don’t have much to say to this . I’ll tell this to you now before anything else, I’m sorry for a shittier review than normal. I don’t know, I didn’t get how most people were saying that this was much better than the first book because I honestly can’t see it (I’m sorry!). Nevertheless, I still gave it a four star because it is still an excellent read altogether.

The cover is kinda meh. I have a long battle about covers of fantasy books. It’s not that they are ugly. But they kind of overwhelm me. Most of the time there are so many things going on in the cover of these kinds of books. So, I am not surprised if I wasn’t really that impressed with the cover. But then again, the content matters more rather than the packaging.

I don’t really get how this was much better. Like, I just don’t? Is it just me? I felt like this was a much slower read than all the Maas books I’ve read. I think that’s really her style of writing–slow but with a collective progress. But with Crown of Midnight I was almost bored at some parts. Which is really an alarming thing to feel because I haven’t had these problems with her other books.

But despite this, I was impressed with the character development. Oh boy, the character development! I think I am growing to love Celaena already, even Dorian! But of course my baby Chaol is still my favorite. Even for what he did.

ANYWAY! IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK, I’M GONNA STOP YOU RIGHT THERE BECAUSE I’M GOING TO GO IN WITH SPOILERS! COME BACK WHEN YOU’VE READ IT! SEE YA!!!


Alright! Whoo. Where do I start?

*NEHEMIA DYING. Why. Sarah, why? I mean, I wasn’t really that invested in her character and I was actually thinking that her character is easily negligible since half the time she’s not really there and shit. BUT WHY DID YOU KILL HER OFF. It was nice to think that Celaena had someone. A girlfriend. You really had to take that away from her, huh? My heart grieved, I must tell you.

*CELAENA AND CHAOL HAPPENING. Because owyezzz. I am sooo happy about this. I was half drunk on their love but of course, bane of my existence, it has to end so soon. Because Chaol, oh my Chaol, I love you but really?! As if you don’t know Celeana…she can take care of herself!! She can even take care for both of your assess. Ugh. I was so disappointed with him. I get his super over-the-moon code of honor for the king. BUT DAMN IT CHAOL. Now you got your ass in a downright heap. And just ugh. Face the wall, I’m so disappointed with you.

ogxli4b7yhwii

*DORIAN’S POWER. Oh. My. Gahd. Say what?! Can you even think of a more rebellious notion? His father the king banned magic and here is Dorian prancing about with raw magic. HAHAHAHA. I still don’t like him for Celaena though. Begone Dorian. 😛

*As jessethereader has wisely said from his review, “Celaena bae is Celaena fae.” HOLY WHAT!! Sure, I was actually foreseeing that Celaena was of noble birth (as I have said in my review of the first book) but I didn’t see her as fae! I guess, this finally explained that part in the first book where they were in the woods and when she woke up there were little footprints near her. Can you remember that part? BUT OH BOY SO MUCH LIKE FOR THISSS. And erm, should I start calling her Aelin now? Or…

*These Wyrdmarks. Frankly, it reminds me of Voldemort’s horcruxes.

*I loved Mort! Mort kinda reminds me of that bobbing head in the movie of Harry Potter. I think it’s Prisoner of Azkaban. The bobbing head in that bus? Yeah. It kind of reminds me of that one. For some weird reason, I compare this series with Harry Potter. I mean why do I do that?! But anyway, I loved Mort’s character because he’s like a thrown laughter in the darkness that is the deep magic that’s in the tombs. And also because he is super sarcastic and I like that! HAHA.

ofe1fy5yi9lbu

I think that’s about it. I told you I don’t have much to say about this!


I was kind of surprised that I finished this book in less than five days. What stopped me from giving this a 3 of 5 rating was the fact that I was kind of excited with all those little twists in the book and I certainly enjoyed that. I am so excited for Heir of Fire! Shit is about to go down!!!! And oh god, now I’m kind of iffy with this Chaol and Celaena thing going on. :/ I mean, I love Chaol but–just–gahd. Okay, okay. I’m gonna stop talking about Chaol. Haha.

I want to inquire to you guys, should I actually read The Assassin’s Blade now, or should I put it off until I finish Empire of Storms and I’m all caught up with the series? PLEASE HELPPPPP! 

Do I recommend it? Oh absolutely. Don’t lie and say you’re not wrapped up in this series just yet. I mean, come on. Tell the truth. Just kidding. BUT YEAH I RECOMMEND IT ALRIGHT.

wgibgbipb2qse


*Cover image and Synopsis via Goodreads; Gifs via Giphy.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

