Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass, #3) by Sarah J. Maas

GENERAL INFO

20613470Title: Heir of Fire

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Series: Throne of Glass (no. 3)

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Fiction

Number of Pages (Hardcover): 565

Date Published: September 2nd of 2014

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Synopsis (via Goodreads): 

Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak―but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life―and her future―forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

The bestselling series that has captured readers all over the world reaches new heights in this sequel to the New York Times best-selling Crown of Midnight. Packed with heart-pounding action, fierce new characters, and swoon-worthy romance, this third book will enthrall readers from start to finish.

Rate: 4 of 5

Get a copy: Book Depository (Hardcover, Paperback, CD-Audio)



REVIEW (NO SPOILERS)
“You didn’t need a weapon at all when you were born one.”

It would be an extreme understatement if I said that I was excited to wrap my hands around this book because I’m really loving this series and it’s been hard for me to just keep myself in check regarding my pacing. Soon enough I’ll be left with no more Sarah J. Maas books to read and what will my life be then? 😛 Let 2017 be known as the year Sarah J. Maas completely destroyed my heart and my bookshelf, from A Court of Mist and Fury and now with this series.

Needless to say, this is not my first Maas book. I’m still surprised as to how she continues to outdo herself. She’s becoming more excellent as time goes by and it’s really, really wonderful. The type of writing has long since developed and I’m quite confident that she’ll get better in the other books–I have heard positive (stellar, actually) reviews of the later books in this series. I love how the story flows and weaves and develops–just look behind Throne of Glass and you’ll understand. Also, I didn’t really want to take notes because I just wanted to read and read and read it.

As much as I love reading long books, I had been somewhat disappointed with this one because it just seemed so dragging and even lulling that sometimes I’m kinda confused as to what is happening. It’s long, I’ll tell you that. (That’s what she said.)  I’ve deemed this book as having a pace slower than all the previous books I have read of the author because even though all of her books are really hefty in size, I don’t really have a problem with the pacing except for the first parts of The Assassin’s Blade, and it kinda saddens me BUT THEN it really picks up in the middle parts because that is where all the magic will happen. OH YASSS.

12nubkx6p4xoo4

I might as well say it outright, this is the ultimate in-between book, a filler book. You can just feel the new world-building efforts of the author, especially because we find Celaena in a whole new land which is in Wendlyn. So naturally, a whole new environment is painted–AND A WHOLE LOT NEW CHARACTERS! What can also be found here is Aelin’s redemption and her kick-ass emergence. It’s beautiful. It was really nice to see the characters individually, separated from each other since that gave them a whole new depth to their distinguishing qualities. I loved the round-robin (is that what it’s called? Forgive me, I’m not really sure) style of the chapters between the different characters.

Overall, I liked the direction this series is going to. Sure, I have some qualms. And sure, I would have kindly requested that Sarah J. Maas stops breaking my heart every goddamn time. But, you know, I can live with it. Haha. This book had me hitching my breath because practically every chapter is a cliff hanger.

Chaol still has my heart, by the way. And that heart is bleeding right now to the core. This has been really emotionally tolling so prepare your heart, will ya? TBH, I feel like it’s an unspoken rule to just ready your emotions when picking up a Maas book, so yeah.

Day 3543: I still don’t know how to pronounce their names and I refuse to learn. I still pronounce Chaol as “Chowl”. Shut up. It’s good.

I am so excited to get my hands on the next one. I, actually, am currently just finished reading the next book, Queen of Shadows, and damnnnn it’s going down!

So there ends my spoiler-free part of the book and I hope if you haven’t read this that you go ahead and pick it up because SJM will not fail you. What follows here are my thoughts on the different parts of the book so if you don’t want to be spoiled, tread lightly or go read the book and come back!


THOUGHTS (CHOCK FULL OF SPOILERS!)

*Celaena or Aelin? I don’t even know anymore. She’s like a whole new character with all these skedaddling of uncovering her past. It’s just great!

*ROWAN WHITEHORN. Oh gosh. Need I say more? I’m hardcore Chaol but I’d gladly have this  as a back-up ship if my ship decided to just go Titanic on me. Never let go, Chaol. 

*Speaking of which, I’m still waiting for the hopeless love of Chaol’s and Celaena’s. 😦 Huhuhu. Still hoping for my ship to happen but I just, I don’t see it anymore. Like, it’s slowly fading into the horizon seemingly never to come back. Why must you do this to my heart?

*Dorian and Sorscha–GOD. I don’t like her for him. He’s alright, I guess. But I don’t like her. I didn’t really love her even though she made Dorian happy because her character’s premise is just a little too preposterous for me. What are the chances that the crown prince will fall in love with you? I know, next to nothing right? So, IDK, I’m just not too keen on a love that happens too fast and too hard and that’s precisely what theirs is.

*Dorian has a collar?! Like a dog? He doesn’t get a ring, he gets a COLLAR. Good job, Father King!

*Actually, somoehow, I kinda am already going in the direction of knowing that Sorscha is gonna die because let’s face it, her character doesn’t have much use and also, she be sketchy doe.

*Manon! The new kick-ass character! I like her and I am curious about her, I mean, obviously she’s a key character here because she has her own chapter (look at me being all detective on this book series ahahahhaha very witty lol) but she’s a witch rethinking her nature–a what?! I THINK SHE’S GOING DOWN AS A GOOD WITCH OMG.

*Manon’s story sort of gives the storyline a new reach/span and promises a whole new shitstorm that’s going down in the future.

*As if this series can’t get any more kickass, we get wyverns in the book. Which are essentially dragons with a fancy new name. WHAT DO YOU HAVE NOW.

*And hold up, it doesn’t end there! WITCHES. ON DRAGONS. WITCHES ON DRAGONS!!! Witches+Dragons=EPIC FIRE EVERYWHERE SERIES. Lol literally fire.

*I was laughing so hard in that part where Abraxos loves flowers. How cute! And weird. And cute! AHHH cuuuuute.

*I still don’t like Aedion. :/ He’s kinda intense. And what he’s a contender to be the king of Terassen? LOL NO.

*I am really irked as to how Chaol is so honorable still–like buddy we get it. You’re noble and all that shit, but duuuuuuuude.

*As much as my heart belongs to Chaol still, I would be lying if I said that I’m not seeing some glimpse of Celaena/Aelin (honestly, what do I call her now? She has so many names: Celaena Sardothien, Lillian Gordiana, Elentiya, Aelin Ashryver Galathynius, Fireheart…TELL ME WHAT YOUR NAME IS GODDAMNIT AND STICK TO ONE WILL YA) and Rowan happening. My God girl, ang ganda mo.

*Celaena is “done” with Chaol? She removed the ring? NOOOOOOOO.

*Rowan’s mate. 😦

*Celaena and Rowan feels like the start of a friendship that’s so epic–and maybe something more? I loved the scene after Aelin was all burnt out (like literally in her case lol) and Rowan was fussing over her AHHHHHHHHHH.

“Air to help the fire…”

*ARE THEY MEANT TO BE OR WHAT?!

*Celaena being the OMG bitchy boss-ass bitch on her Aunt Maeve? I mean, you go girl.

*Chaol saying “I love you” to Dorian is really #friendshipgoals.

*Chaol is the ultimate martyr. To hell with that honor, wow boy.

*The Wyrdkey is in Arobynn’s possession?! AHHHH. Payback time, sir.

“You’re staying with me from now on.”

*OMG KILIIIIIIIIIG.

l4jyjirvhojisfvfm

*To end this book talk:

“She grinned at Rowan through her tears, and sent the droplet splashing onto his face.
Rowan tossed her into the pool. A moment later, laughing, he jumped in himself.”

*My heart is just so warm about this scene and I’m living for it. This gave me the Feylin vibes (forgive me) and I am really so confused as what ship I am now on.

Do I recommend it? Oh, of course!


*Cover image and Synopsis via Goodreads; Gifs via Giphy.

Come be my friend on Goodreads!
Leave a Reply

