Big Mushy Happy Lump (Sarah’s Scribbles, #2) by Sarah Andersen

GENERAL INFO


30754980Title: Big Mushy Happy Lump

Author: Sarah Andersen

Genre: Comics, Humor, Nonfiction

Series: Sarah’s Scribblesno. 2

Number of Pages (Paperback): 128

(Expected) Date of Publishing: March 7th of 2017

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

Synopsis (via Goodreads):

Swimsuit season is coming up! Better get beach-body ready! Work on those abs! Lift those butts!

…Um, or how about never mind to all that and just be a lump. Big Mushy Happy Lump!

Sarah Andersen’s hugely popular, world-famous Sarah’s Scribbles comics are for those of us who boast bookstore-ready bodies and Netflix-ready hair, who are always down for all-night reading-in-bed parties and extremely exclusive after-hour one-person music festivals.

In addition to the most recent Sarah’s Scribbles fan favorites and dozens of all-new comics, this volume contains illustrated personal essays on Sarah’s real-life experiences with anxiety, career, relationships and other adulthood challenges that will remind readers of Allie Brosh’s Hyperbole and a Half and Jenny Lawson’s Let’s Pretend This Never Happened. The same uniquely frank, real, yet humorous and uplifting tone that makes Sarah’s Scribbles so relatable blooms beautifully in this new longer form.

Rate: 4 of 5

Get a copy: Book Depository (Paperback) | Wordery (Paperback)



I am one of the thousands of Andersen’s fans with her webcomics, Sarah’s Scribbles. I often found it realistic, relatable and really funny. It’s also one of the first to get me to read more webcomics.

The first book of her comics compilations left me crying of laughter so by all means, I’m gonna tell you that when I had this advanced reader copy on my dashboard I was beyond happy. I was so ecstatic to pick it up and it didn’t fail since it is very funny still! Perhaps what I liked more about this when compared to her first one is the fact that this has several essays sprinkled all over it so that it’s not just a compilation of her art. I did thoroughly enjoy this and I literally finished this in less than an hour.

It’s a super, super light-hearted read but I’m quite pleased that she tackled something deeper in here. I found it endearing that she’s not all humor in this one rather she talked about depression, anxiety, overthinking, etc. in a new light. Once again, it’s nothing but starkly remarkably something you relate with on a spiritual level (lol not really but still.) To find yourself in between pages of a book is very comforting and there are very few comic books (that I have read, that is) that discusses these subjects. I liked that she gets to open up herself to her readers and also let us not forget her cartoons! It’s so beautiful…Kinda makes me wish I could draw like that. I tried…it’s just not for me hahahaha.

This was certainly a nice break from reading the intense and action-packed Queen of Shadows and this made me take ahold of my surroundings once again. Overall, this is a very light-hearted comic book compilation which has certainly deviated from the general format of the first book.

Do I recommend it? Yep.
Be my friend on Goodreads!


*Thanks for the advanced reader copy made accessible to me by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

**Cover image and Synopsis via Goodreads.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

