Lunarbaboon Presents: We All Have Powers: And Other Things You Learn as a Parent by Christopher Grady

General Info


30754981Title: Lunarbaboon Presents: We All Have Powers: And Other Things You Learn as a Parent

Author: Christopher Grady

Series: None

Genre: Comics, Humor

Number of Pages (Paperback): 128

(Expected) Date of Publishing: April 4th of 2017

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

Synopsis (via Goodreads):

Explore the daily struggles and humor of family life with Lunarbaboon. He’s just like any other dad–but vaguely hairier because he’s half man/half moon monkey.

We All Have Powers shares life’s parenting moments from the perspective of a 30-something man/father/husband/chaos survivor. Together with the savvy, laid back Mom, wild child Moishe, baby Matilda, and a former Julliard student (their cat), Lunarbaboon must navigate the family and social dynamics of everyday life. Ranging from the hilarious (defeating closet monsters with a “stun” blaster that offers surprising facts about bears, Mars, and cats) to the sweet (the gray scale-to color transition out of depression at the touch of a loved one), this collection explores the bonds within a family and all the characters who bring both order and chaos to life.

Lunarbaboon’s perfect meld of crabby humor and moments of impactful honesty give these comics a wide range and distinctive voice that’s both comical and sincere.

Rate: 4 of 5

Get a copy: Book Depository (PaperbackWordery (Paperback)



Okay, first off, I’m sorry if this has been the third comic book I have posted in a row but I just went ham on comic books lately! Haha.

Ah, another webcomic that I’m particularly fond of. What strikes me everytime I read Lunarbaboon is to how practical and deep it’s portrayed meanings are. It’s one of those comics that taps into the realness of life but with a pinch of humor added in–another attribute that I’m particularly keen on. As much as I am familiar with the webcomics, this is the first book I have read of the said webcomics. There are two previous works by Grady under the Lunarbaboon titles, as well.

Delving into this has been a breeze. Certainly the perk of reading comics is the ability to finish it in one sitting. The cover wisely summarizes the tale that this book is trying to portray. It’s delightful as to how this showcased the innocence of children that it’s quite funny and thought-provoking at the same time. Straight-up, I’m not a parent but I still enjoyed this as much.

Lunarbaboon leaves me the impression as one of those comic striips that are too true that it’s funny–it also reminds me of Deep Dark Fears. It has these momentary deep thoughts and I’m all for it!

P.S. If you’ve read this, please tell me I am not the only one still reeling from laughter with the butt daddy bit.

Do I recommend it? Yes


*Cover image and Synopsis via Goodreads

**Thank you to the publisher (via Netgalley) for kindly giving me access to an advanced reader copy for an honest review.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

