Life on the Refrigerator Door by Alice Kuipers

256003Title: Life on the Refrigerator Door

Author: Alice Kuipers

Series: None

Genre: Women’s Literature, Fiction, Contemporary

Number of Pages (Hardcover): 220

Date Published: August 28th of 2007

Publisher: Harper

Synopsis (via Goodreads):

Claire and her mother are running out of time, but they don’t know it. Not yet. Claire is wrapped up with the difficulties of her bourgeoning adulthood—boys, school, friends, identity; Claire’s mother, a single mom, is rushed off her feet both at work and at home. They rarely find themselves in the same room at the same time, and it often seems that the only thing they can count on are notes to each other on the refrigerator door. When home is threatened by a crisis, their relationship experiences a momentous change. Forced to reevaluate the delicate balance between their personal lives and their bond as mother and daughter, Claire and her mother find new love and devotion for one another deeper than anything they had ever imagined.

Heartfelt, touching, and unforgettable, Life on the Refrigerator Door is a glimpse into the lives of mothers and daughters everywhere. In this deeply touching novel told through a series of notes written from a loving mother and her devoted fifteen-year-old daughter, debut author Alice Kuipers deftly captures the impenetrable fabric that connects mothers and daughters throughout the world. Moving and rich with emotion, Life on the Refrigerator Door delivers universal lessons about love in a wonderfully simple and poignant narrative.

Rate: 3.5 of 5

Get a copy: Book Depository (PaperbackWordery (Paperback)



‘I think I’ll leave this letter for you here. In this empty kitchen. So you’ll know if you come home that I love you and I miss you. Please don’t worry about me.
Your daughter,
Claire

The presentation of this book is really unique because it is presented in notes left on the fridge door. It was such a fast read since I finished it in practically one sitting. This was a very random read since I wasn’t able to find the book I was opting to read, and I saw this instead.

My heart hurts. This was one of my impulse reads and I didn’t anticipate it would have such an impact on me. It is very inspirational and heartfelt, especially the parts approaching the end.  This book is deeply moving that it just seemed so real. I liked how the author let the reader decide what was really happening in the background instead of spoon-feeding us with a to-the-point scenario. However, I love-hated how there’s this air of impending doom, but then again, the said attribute really makes for a great book.

26ufprbiudflrmy6q

One qualm I have is that I feel like the pain of having a cancer patient in the family wasn’t showcased thoroughly. Instead of talking about the disease, the events around it were tackled which is, I suppose, in some way correctly portrayed the thematic intent of the book since it is just made up of notes. Personally, I’ve had numerous loved ones who had gone through this path (my grandpa died of cancer, as well.) and I wished the story was more well-developed rather than the manner that this book has gone through–too many things happening in the ends and too fast.

While the story is deeply moving, and really cry-worthy, I didn’t see the merit of making it a 4 of 5 rating. So, I’m going to settle with a 3.5 rating because  cannot say that I loved it straight-away. BUT, I see the moral and  the efforts of the story-telling. Now, excuse me. I’m going to go cry again read a new book.  

‘The worst part about coming here was that I looked on the fridge door for a note from you, and there wasn’t one. The door was white and empty. I cried for ages.’
Do I recommend it? Yes. 🙂
Be my friend on Goodreads!


Cover image and Synopsis via Goodreads; Gif via Giphy.

One thought on “Life on the Refrigerator Door by Alice Kuipers

  1. Pingback: March Wrap-Up // 2017 – The Book Weirdo

Leave a Reply

