Definitions of Indefinable Things by Whitney Taylor

26221374Title: Definitions of Indefinable Things

Author: Whitney Taylor

Series: None

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Number of Pages (Kindle edition): 336

(Expected) Date of Publishing: April 4th of 2017

Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

Synopsis (via Goodreads):

This heartbreaking, humorous novel is about three teens whose lives intersect in ways they never expected.

Reggie Mason is all too familiar with “the Three Stages of Depression.” She believes she’s unlocked the secret to keeping herself safe: Nobody can hurt you if you never let them in.

Reggie encounters an unexpected challenge to her misanthropy: a Twizzler-chomping, indie film-making narcissist named Snake. Snake’s presence, while reassuring, is not exactly stable—especially since his ex-girlfriend is seven months pregnant. As Reggie falls for Snake, she must decide whether it’s time to rewrite the rules that have defined her.

Rate: 4 of 5

Get a copy: Book Depository (Hardback)

I want to thank the Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Children’s Book Group to have given me the chance to read an advanced reader copy through Netgalley.



This is primarily the story of two teenagers, Reggie and Snake. They both have depression and they happen to stumble upon one another while they were in the pharmacy on the run to getting anti-depressants in which their characters clashed instantly. (Seems like a nice way to meet people, no? Just kidding. I think that part was brilliant, to be honest.) With another coincidence, the two draws close to each other. However, a big hurdle to their relationship–in the form of a pregnant ex-girlfriend–presents itself.

I requested this off Netgalley, I won’t lie, because of the handsome cover. It wasn’t really in my impression that this was romance-type but rather I was more looking forward to the discussion of depression since it is the greatest element present in this book.

To be honest, I wanted to hate this book. I am not particularly fond of books that give off a teen angst-y vibe. It makes me angry and uncomfortable and I find it so cliche. BUT, the redeeming thing as to how I pushed through to reading this was the depression element. Depression is something that is close to my heart and I genuinely wanted to know how Whitney Taylor spins this novel’s story with depression thrown in.

I gave it 4 of 5 stars because I think the author really did try to portray depression. It would have been better if Taylor detailed the depression of the characters because sometimes it can get a little vague but, I guess, it did the trick. I can also see the genuine effort on keeping the reader’s attention. It does lull at times but it keeps pace towards the end.

It was a little rough to break into since some things happen waaay too fast and I’m here like: Does this even happen in real life? 

giphy

The first third of the book was particularly hard to get past because I was working against all the things I hated when reading books (i.e. I hated the characters, I hated the dialogue, etc.) but never give up! It DOES get better. 😛

I, actually, enjoyed the ending. (I was supposed to give it a 3.5) I thought it provided a nice ending, that there really was a closure. I was under the impression that this was just another tale of feeling-special-snowflakes-oh-I’m-above-everyone-else type of teenagers but no, this has a different tone to it. You know that feeling when you desperately want to hate a book yet, no, you like it? With all of its cliches and deep thoughts and flaws? Yep. This is the one, folks. This is the one.

Other thoughts (Some spoilers ahead!)

*I felt the portrayal of Christians was so poor. I’m sorry, but I am a Christian, my family is Christian, almost all of my friends are Christians but I have yet to encounter a Christian like her mom. But then again, maybe that’s just her mom. And I’m not also ruling out that perhaps there are Christians like that. But I don’t know, it just seems to be too poor an echo of Christians. :/

*I do wish the author shed more light on Carla’s pregnancy because that’s the story matters as well because that story’s gonna start a new thing and it’s gonna last–it’s a whole new person for Pete’s sake!

*It’s just so cliche. They’re both broken and now they’re fixing each other. Oh, please, spare me. I think what particularly irritated me is that these characters were making decisions so haphazardly based on the present too much on top of things that they don’t know in the future.

*I hated the air of teens pretending like they have everything figured out that this gives off. I was like that as a teen and I had to work really hard to make myself conscious that, no, I don’t have everything figured out. But that’s the thing–you figure it all out as you go along. It’s not a eureka moment in which you just know everything about it and you can now go hopping along in life. Alright, erm…Where was I? Damn that escalated so quickly. 😛 (But then again, maybe most teens feel like that. I’m just here feeling like a special snowflake hahahaha.)

Do I recommend it? Yes.


Cover image and Synopsis via Goodreads; Gif via Giphy.

3 Comments

  1. I liked this book too (4/5). I actually loved Snake and Reggie. The part I struggled with a little, was the romantic side. The whole deformed love triangle was tough for me, but since it didn’t dominate the book, it didn’t dominate my opinion.
    Sam @ WLABB

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had a tough time with Reggie’s character. I was irritated with her pessimism, which tbh I should’ve rolled along with because that’s who she is. You know, I wasn’t really convinced that it was fully a love triangle. Like, I felt Reggie and Snake WAS real and Carla was just another fling. But at the same time I wanted Carla to be tackled since by jolly, she’s pregnant. I guess I just had a rough time wrapping my head around how easily these three characters just coexisted in the story when there should be more drama between them. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

