Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers // Thoughts

11422Title: Redeeming Love

Author: Francine Rivers

Series: None

Genre: Christian, Romance, Historical Fiction

Number of Pages (Paperback): 464

Date Published: May 9th of 2005 (but first published in 1991)

Publisher: Multnomah

Synopsis (via Goodreads):

California’s gold country, 1850. A time when men sold their souls for a bag of gold and women sold their bodies for a place to sleep.

Angel expects nothing from men but betrayal. Sold into prostitution as a child she survives by keeping her hatred alive. And what she hates most are the men who use her, leaving her empty and dead inside.

Then she meets Michael Hosea. A man who seeks his Father’s heart in everything, Michael obeys God’s call to marry Angel and to love her unconditionally. Slowly, day by day, he defies Angel’s every bitter expectation, until despite her resistance, her frozen heart begins to thaw.

But with her unexpected softening come overwhelming feelings of unworthiness and fear. And so Angel runs. Back to the darkness, away from her husband’s pursuing love, terrified of the truth she no longer can deny: Her final healing must come from the One who loves her even more than Michael does … the One who will never let her go.

Rate: 5 of 5

Get a copy: Book Depository (Paperback, Hardcover, CD-Audio)



Thoughts (No spoilers!)

It’s been a good one month since I finished this book and I still don’t know what to say about it. My thoughts are still all over the place along with the ruins of my heart. But if I have one word to describe what this book is to me, it would be blessing.

“Come, and let us return unto the LORD: for he hath torn, and he will heal us; he hath smitten, and he will bind us up.”
Hosea 6:1

I didn’t know what to expect of this book when I picked it up other than the fact that it’s Christian and that Natasha over at Tashapolis loves it. And when I picked it up I was like, “Yeah sure. Why not?” Little did I know that this book would make me feel a roller-coaster of emotions.

It’s such a gem when you find a book wherein you identify a little of yourself to one of the characters. In some ways, that makes the story more relatable. In my case, Angel, the main character, could not be any more different than what I am as a person. Where she grew up in a hostile environment devoid of the guidance of loving parents and a supportive community, I grew up in a Christian home, went to Sunday School every week, attended Vacation Bible School every summer, went to youth camps, studied in a Christian school–you see the picture. So, upon reading this, I felt more appreciative of the kind of environment I grew up in and the same environment that I always take for granted. I loved the fact that her decisions in the story makes no sense sometimes, I sort of get her point. Like, I do get her. She has a valid point of doing what she did. She was in a very bad place in her life and she thought doing those things were (at least, kinda) okay. She thought she can save herself and she’s always on her guard.

“Her whole life was one huge regret, right from the beginning.”

“Hope was a dream, and reaching for it turned her life into an unbearable nightmare.”

The character is someone I cannot really identify with but I loved her character all the more for that.

Now, let me just tackle Michael. Just. OKAY. Michael. I CANNOT BELIEVE HOW PATIENT HE IS. Having said that, I couldn’t really quite believe myself that I actually fell in step with his character. I really tried to understand his point of view of the story and I think I’m seeing a glimpse of why his character can endure so much though his character is quite complex.

I loved this so much because it’s not everyday that prostitution (or any derivative of sex, really) is talked about in the Christian world. And I just appreciated how it made a tale of a beautiful, enduring love out of it. A love that is patient and doesn’t tire–divine love.

This book is so precious and yes, it might be one of the greatest gems of my 2017 reading life. This made me more appreciative of my walk in faith with the LORD that my heart just can’t stop rejoicing over my salvation, as well. I will be reading more Christian works–I hardly read any and I’m not really sure why.

I loved the storyline. I loved how daring it is. I loved how uplifting it was as a reading experience. I loved the message this portrays. I loved that I can see this to be a continual blessing for many people in generations to come. I loved the fact that Francine Rivers herself said that “Writing Redeeming Love was a form of worship” for her. This is just so inspiring and I am just so awe-stricken in wonder and love for the beauty that this book is.

Overall, can you not tell I love this book? (Because if you can’t I can go on ahead and ramble some more about this.)

P.S. I’d like to order one Michael, please. With fries on the side. Thanks.

Do I recommend it? OH YESSSSSS.


Other notes I had and favorite quotes (Spoilers awaitin’! I think)
“He was never angry when she made mistakes. He complimented and encouraged her. He shared his own mishaps with a sense of humor that made her less annoyed with her own incompetence. He gave her hope that she could learn, and pride when she did.”

*HI! CAN I GET A MICHAEL PLEASE?! 😛

*”‘Give your pain to me,’ he said.”

“Oh, Lord, she is so perfect, like no other creation in the world. My mate.”

*MICHAEL IS THE CHRISTIAN RHYSAND

*”‘Flesh of my flesh,’ he wishpered against her hair. ‘Blood of my blood.'”

“Love doesn’t last.”
“Sometimes it does. If it’s the right kind.”

*THIS IS JUST SUCH A GOOD BOOK OHH MY GOLLLLY

*”Come away with me and be my love.

*HOW COULD I HAVE NOT SEEN THE FACT THAT SHE IS NAMED SARAH LIKE WHAT HOW DID I NOT SEE THAT COMING. HOW DID I NOT SEE THAT SHE WILL HAVE CHILDREN WITH MICHAEL. JUST HOW. This is from a girl who grew up with Bible stories read to and by her. 😀

*What made this tale sweeter is the fact that she did not find the love she was hoping for from Michael. But rather with the LORD.

Come to me, beloved. Stand and come to me.
Warmth swept over her. This was the love she’d been waiting for all her life.”

*It’s always a little off, in my opinion, when Christian fiction tries to portray the process of salvation particularly the part where the Holy Ghost works upon you because it’s always a different sort for different people and that’s just the mystery of it. However, I thought this was quite nice–not that great, but it still left me sobbing especially with Angel’s story.

“She had a quiet grace about her now, a beautiful humility.


*Cover image and Synopsis via Goodreads.

*I’m a Book Depository affiliate so when you purchase a book using my link above or with this link I get a little commission which helps me with this reading habit of mine. 🙂

One Comment

Leave a Reply

