REVIEW // Mer by Joelle Sellner

Review header.png

33825562Title: Mer

Author: Joelle Sellner

Genre: Graphic Novel (Comics), Fantasy, Young Adult

Date Published: April 19th of 2017

Publisher: Diamond Book Distributors

Number of Pages: 128

Synopsis (via Goodreads):

Twilight meets the legend of Atlantis in this gripping graphic novel from writer Joelle Sellner and artist Abby Boeh. After the death of her beloved mother, Aryn’s father has moved her family to a new town hoping for a fresh start. At first things seem to be going well—Aryn is making friends and has even caught the eye of one of the hottest guys in school. But there are dark forces moving under the surface that Aryn cannot see; and her new crush may not be … human.

Rate: 3 of 5



Thoughts bannerAs a reader, I haven’t really been exposed to much graphic novels that I really am not sure where to classify such type of books, ergo, I all flag them down as “comics”. Which is really weird. So, please, forgive me if iI flag a graphic novel as “comics” the next time–I’m still wading my way in through the genre. 🙂

I liked the premise of the story. It’s essentially about mer-people (i.e. mermaid, mermen, sirens, etc.) and that’s a subject that I’m particularly fond of. (I actually made a research paper about it back in college! :P) I love how stories like these can go literally anywhere in direction since there’s just so much mystery about the subject. For that reason alone, I just had to request the book!

Perhaps I was just expecting too much, but I was really underwhelmed with how the story advanced later on in the book. I felt like I was looking for that certain something that the story failed to project. I was under the impression that this would be a much more complex sort of a story but alas, that is not so. The story was rather simplistic, in my opinion. Nevertheless, that doesn’t mean I didn’t like it. I  liked how the story went but I think the ending is crying for a continuation. (Pretty please? :P)

Something that was really a disappointment for me was that most characters didn’t really last an impression on me. They were easily forgettable and that’s something that disturbs me because characters are key elements when writing a story but most of the supporting characters that could have been used for a more well-rounded story was overlooked. They were too in the background and they were failed to be utilized for the benefit of the plot. The dialogue of the characters were okay. Same as with the setting. I was hoping to get a glimpse of the other mer world but that hope was stifled as well. 

Being just a mere 128-page of a book, I know it’s on the short side and because of that I noticed that the ending felt a little too abrupt and that it was hurried. I was hoping for more action and clarity with the developments in the story but I guess the ending is really designed to be that–a cliffhanger.

Being a graphic novel, Mer has a cute artwork. Some are really detailed, some aren’t. It reminded me of Archie Comics and I don’t know if that’s a bad or a good thing regarding a graphic novel. (This is also the reason why I’ve put this under the genre comics because it looked like it is comics. Again, I’m not that familiar with the genre yet! :P)

I, also, want to remark on the promotion/synopsis written above that is a reflection from that is posted in Goodreads. It said, Twilight meets the legend of Atlantis. Yeah, I’m not sure it does. If we’re talking about the elements of the story maybe it did pick off some things on the story of Atlantis but, as far as my recollection of Twilight goes, it has very little elements that it shares with the series.

I really like the story-flow but I was looking for more action and for more story, i.e. a more complex story, behind it all. For example, I would’ve delighted if the main characters’ family backgrounds were tackled rather than just sped through. Overall, this was a rather nice read.

Do I recommend it? Sure.


Get a copy: Book Depository (Paperback)


*Thanks to the publisher for giving me access to the book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

*Cover image and Synopsis via Goodreads

*I’m a Book Depository affiliate, which means for every purchase you make using the link above, I get a teensy bit of commission. 🙂

 

 

One Comment

Leave a Reply

