Book Review: Three Dark Crowns (Three Dark Crowns #1) by Kendare Blake

28374007Title: Three Dark Crowns

Author: Kendare Blake

Series: Three Dark Crowns#1

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Fiction

Number of Pages (Hardcover): 398

Date Published: September 20th of 2016

Publisher: HarperTeen

Synopsis (via Goodreads):

When kingdom come, there will be one.

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born—three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown.

Rating: ★★★★★ (5 of 5)

thebookweirdo (4)

Three Black Witches are born in a glen,
Sweet little triplets
Will never be friends.
Three Black Witches, all fair to be seen.
Two to devour,
And one to be queen.

I have heard a lot about Three Dark Crowns from almost everyone I follow on Goodreads and on Booktube–most of which are good things. So, with all that hype I was a little daunted to read this. The typical questions such as: What if I don’t like it? What if I hate the characters? What if I end up not liking Kendare Blake’s future books anymore? started to go after me. But, alas, Kendare didn’t fail me again. Her writing is still beautiful, better actually in my opinion! Plus, that cover spoke to me on a level I cannot even begin to explain to you.

I loved how the story pulled me in right from the start. I appreciate that especially because I was in a mini reading slump. (But really, is it just me? Do you also get these mini reading slumps when you have soooo many books to read and you’re just confused what to read next? Like, look books everywhere! Anyway…) The story is very engaging.

Above the interesting plot, I loved the main characters more. There are three sisters: Mirabella (AKA the strong, talented, powerful one), Katharine (AKA the softest one, in my opinion) and lastly Arsinoe (AKA omg I love her). Of the three sisters, I loved Arsinoe the best because her character felt so raw, so smart, so ordinary but just you know there’s just so much strength in her character. She’s there purely not just because she’s pretty, or talented. She’s there still because of the sheer fact that she’s the most vulnerable of the three and she is witty as f**k. She is fearfully true. She knows she is not good at what is expected of her and is resigned to it. She does not pity herself rather it’s a truth that she has swallowed and does not even care–or perhaps risen above it. It’s finally a story on someone that is unremarkable. (Sorry, I just love her so much. :P)

giphy1

I loved loved loved the general plot of the story and I must say, I was really intrigued. Although the story-flow was a little on the slow side, I still enjoyed it.  Though ideally I would have liked the pacing to be a little bit faster, I didn’t have any serious problems with it to be honest. I kinda liked it. Some readers had a problem with that aspect but I didn’t. But, I won’t lie, I saw that ending coming. I’ve suspected it all the while and the ending was just a mere confirmation of my hypotheses. And to be honest, I can roll with that. I was so into the story because I found it so brilliant and alluring and it just pulled me in–another classic thing that Blake does to me.

The world-building wasn’t really that impressive. I’m not so sure why but it felt a little too generic, too ordinary when compared with other books in the fantasy genre. I liked the three different perspectives which I can just feel is already merging into one. Where one is poweful, the other is too soft-hearted, the other a little too snarky, etc.

Prior to reading this, I’ve Anna Dressed in Blood and Girl of NightmaresReading a Kendare Blake book has always been an easy read and this book is not an exception to that. When I’m reading one of her books it feels like the scenes and chapters just bleed into one another that before I know it I was already at the end of the book! The story was such a page-turner and I loved it with all my heart and I cannot wait for the next book which is coming out on September this year! This book, according to Blake, will be a quartet.

 

thebookweirdo (1)

*First of all, I AM SQUEALING WITH DELIGHT WITH THAT ENDING!!!! I knew it! I just–I knew it!

*Freaking Joseph. I’m looking at you you nitwit. Along with you, Mirabella. I see you.

*I hated Joseph. I didn’t like him off the bat but his thing with Mirabella just made my heart bleed for poor Jules. I hope she permits her cougar to rip through him.

*I hated Mirabella in the process, as well. She’s my least favorite, tbh.



BUY A COPY VIA BOOK DEPOSITORY

Hardcover-https://goo.gl/ytTrwW

Paperback-https://goo.gl/K7koGW

CD-Audio-https://goo.gl/s5DJbu

💎💎💎



*Cover image and Synopsis via Goodreads; Gif via Giphy.

*I am a Book Depository affiliate which means I get a teensy bit of commission when you use my link to purchase the books.

thebookweirdo

4 Comments

    1. Ahhhh let me know if it is indeed in BEA since I’m so excited too know the next developments as well! (See, these are the moments I envy people living in America 😂)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

