Book Review + Giveaway: Secrets of Southern Girls by Haley Harrigan

9781492647553-PRTitle: Secrets of Southern Girls

Author: Haley Harrigan

Genre: Mystery, Fiction, Contemporary

Page Number (Paperback): 320

Date Published: June 6th of 2017

Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark

Synopsis:

In this powerful, affecting debut, a young woman uncovers devastating secrets about the friend she thinks she killed

Ten years ago, Julie Portland accidentally killed her best friend, Reba. What’s worse is she got away with it. Consumed by guilt, she left the small town of Lawrence Mill, Mississippi, and swore nothing would ever drag her back. Now, raising her daughter and struggling to make ends meet in Manhattan, Julie still can’t forget the ghost of a girl with golden hair and a dangerous secret.

When August, Reba’s first love, begs Julie to come home to find the diary that Reba kept all those years ago, Julie’s past comes creeping back to haunt her. That diary could expose the shameful memories Julie has been running from, but it could also unearth the hidden truths that Reba left buried…and reveal that Julie isn’t the only one who feels responsible for Reba’s death.

Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3 of 5)

I want to thank the publisher for making it possible for me to have an access to the book in exchange for an honest review, via Netgalley. Additionally, this giveaway is in partnership with the publisher, Sourcebooks Landmark. 🙂

thebookweirdo (4)

I would keep this review short and to the point. But first, look at that cover and tell me you agree with me–it’s gorgeous! I feel like it ultimately packages the story of the book very well. I got an e-copy of this book through Netgalley and I remember requesting it because of the beautiful cover (it was a different cover). But might I just say, the cover improvement is stellar.

I thought the plot of the story had a big potential and I actually appreciated the fact that it was very slow. I thought there was a certain sense of the story gathering to an end. I also loved the multiple point-of-views provided in the story. So, that aspect was awesome!

To be honest, I had difficulty rating this book. I loved the storyline and the plot. The setting and the way of writing was good as well (especially accounting the fact that this is Harrigan’s debut work). However, I didn’t feel connected to any of the characters. I wanted to rate it four stars but that was just one big barrier I couldn’t get past. But that didn’t really made me stop liking it in the general sense. I thought this was a nice read!

Now, moving on to the Giveaway portion! The winner will be going home with a Summer Reads Prize Pack!

Just click on this link:  Rafflecopter Giveaway! I hope you win!

thebookweirdo

 

Leave a Reply

