Book Review: Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1) by Stephanie Perkins

6936382Title: Anna and the French Kiss

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Series: Anna and the French Kiss#1

Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary

Number of Pages (Hardcover): 372

Date Published: December 2nd of 2010

Publisher: Dutton Juvenile

Synopsis (through Goodreads):

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?

Rating:  (4 of 5)

thebookweirdo (4)

This is like one of the most recommended YA romance novels so I won’t really go far with my notes but I just loved it and whatever you’re assuming about it because of the title and the cover and what-not, it doesn’t hold. Because this might perhaps be the most well-written teen romance book I have read.

I have been passing by on this bookstore which has a lot of stocks of this book for the longest time. I always thought the title was so cheesy and the cover didn’t really entice me all that well. It’s the alternate cover, not the one above. As years pass by, I have found myself to be taking less and less fancies on cheesy, teen-y books. With that in mind, look at that title and that cover and tell me if I was the type to pick this up. So, I always didn’t put my attention on this book even though many people say that it’s great.

I’m a snobby reader when it comes to books whose covers are not particularly amicable. Because of the cover, I ultimately assumed that this would just be another cliched teen romance. I guess everything just converged into me not picking this up for the longest time: the title, the cover, the setting, the target audience, etc. But, I stand corrected because I’m glad I read this.

Actually, even though I know of this book since forever, I made the decision to pick this up when KathleenLights in Youtube was talking about it. It’s crazy–I’m taking book recommendations from my favorite beauty Youtuber! I was then in a slump so I was like: “Eh. Okay what have I got to lose?” I won’t say that the story would be skipping away from all the cheesiness, it’s there. But for some reason, I noticed that it was handled a little bit more classy. 

If for some reason you still don’t get it, let me just give you the gist of my review: I didn’t expect to like it but I did. I thought it would just be another teen contemporary fiasco. But it really wasn’t and I’m still surprised as to how mature-sounding this came off.

I loved Anna’s character. She was this true teenager but at the same time she shows off this certain dimension to the character that she is presented as someone more mature. Etienne was a beautiful addition to the story. I was hoping to get more attached to their mini-squad going on there but I wasn’t so that one was kind of a disappointment for me. I have some qualms on how the story advanced but that might be too spoiler-full. (Just look at the section below this. :D)

This book was cute but not sappy or irritating. I liked it. This is the first of a series and I said a while ago that I want to read the next books, but after quite a while, I don’t think I will pick up the next book anytime soon.

thebookweirdo (1)

*I was confused as to what really is happening with her and Etienne. I felt like I would have been okay if they didn’t developed the “feelings” beacuse I saw the friendship there and it’s beautiful. I would have preferred if they became friends for much longer, ya know?



Get a copy from Book Depository:

Hardcover-https://goo.gl/weVZN0

Paperback-https://goo.gl/gMI7ku

Downloadable Audio File-https://goo.gl/bveoU7

CD-Audio-https://goo.gl/I7wIK2

💎💎💎



*Cover image and Synopsis via Goodreads

*I am a Book Depository affiliate which means I get a teensy bit of commission when you use my link to purchase the books.

thebookweirdo

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1) by Stephanie Perkins

  1. I like your review, but I am a YA snob. After reading Twilight and listening to Harry Potter series, my brain would just turn off if it is YA related. I am not saying the books are bad or that I do not enjoy it, but I just keep putting it off. I might read this, just because. I forgot…I enjoyed watching many movies from YA novels. I think I just randomly prejudiced myself to some type of books for no apparent reason.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I think our taste in books is largely affected by different factors. For me, I think one’s level of maturity and outlook in life greatly makes us change what we like. I, myself, had been very fond of teen books–when I was a teen. But as of now, I’m moving away to that and going to Young Adult and New Adult type of books. It’s a wee bit disorienting finding myself on different grounds but I love it as well because I know I’m not a stagnant reader! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

