Book Review: We Were Young by Fortesa Latifi

26866079Title: We Were Young

Author: Fortesa Latifi

Genre: Poetry, Nonfiction

Date Published: September of 2015

Publisher: Where Are You Press

Synopsis (through Goodreads):

This is the second book by Fortesa Latifi.

In her sophomore collection of poetry, Fortesa revisits themes from past writings with a new maturity. We Were Young explores the heartbreaks, hangovers, and hang ups associated with growing up.

Rating: ★★☆☆☆ (2 of 5)

thebookweirdo (4)

I enjoy poetry books in most cases. I love the rawness, the simplicity of how a writer can just pour out his/her heart out on it. It seems like a simple channel of creativity but at the same time a complex one, as well. I feel like poems is such a very close thing to the heart. That’s why I felt a little down upon reading We Were Young. I wanted to like it but half the time I was just reading it–not feeling the words. I couldn’t find any connection with what is in the written word…and I felt like I was doing something wrong or perhaps I might have been distracted? I don’t understand how half the time I was just there, not really understanding what’s happening. I’m not sure if this was a fault of mine upon reading, I mean, I might not have been the general demographic that this work has been going for?

As I have said, I think poems are incredibly personal. And I think I understand that it may be possible that I didn’t really identify myself into the poems in the book simply because they were too personal, or that I lack the chance to have been in the shoes of the author in a certain point of time. It’s not bad poetry per se, I’ll tell you that, I can see the talent on Latifi’s writing; the sheer reason why I gave it a 2-star rating was because I couldn’t find it in me to have an attachment to the message of the poems. Because, to be honest with you, THAT’S what I look for when I pick up a poetry book–the sense where I feel the words are moving me emotionally.

thebookweirdo

*Cover image and Synopsis via Goodreads

Leave a Reply

